Rice Can be Part of a Gluten Free Diet

According to the Mayo Clinic, rice does not contain any gluten: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/gluten-free-diet/my01140. It is important to remember however that there is the potential for cross contamination should your rice be processed in the same location as grains containing gluten.

As always, check the label of the products that you buy for any specific gluten warnings. For those of you concerned about the gluten issue, products that clearly state they are gluten free. Check at your local store to see which brands meet your needs.

See just how easy it is to prepare rice with a Japanese rice cooker: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAJFdEBfrBM.

It’s good news that if you are on a gluten free diet, rice can be consumed safely.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.